How to open a tourism business in Florida


If you are convinced that dedicating yourself to the tourism sector is the ideal business idea for you, we invite you to continue reading. On Hispanic Entrepreneurs we give you the details of how to open a tourism business in Florida. This will ensure that it works correctly.


Before entering this world, the first thing you should do is plan your business. Having a clear plan is the factor that will determine the success of the venture, it will also help you clear up some doubts.

You must consider what the initial and permanent costs are, determine what the target market is and how much you should charge the client. He also decides what name the business will have.

How to open a tourism business in Florida

After you have the plan in place, comes the legalization phase that begins with the registration of the company. It is recommended that you investigate the state's business records, federal and state trademark registrations. As well as social media platforms and web domain availability.

Then it goes on to form the legal entity in which you decide what type of legal structure you are going to use. It can be a single property, in this case you probably want to use a different name than yours, so you will have to use a fictitious name or DBA.

You also have the option of registering a partnership, limited liability company (LLC), or a corporation. To the create an LLC in Florida or a corporation will protect the business if it is sued.

SNext, request the EIN (employer identification number) from the Internal Revenue Service. This is done to identify the business and pay taxes. The next step is to open a business bank account and apply for a credit card to protect your personal assets.

Then obtain the necessary state and local business permits and licenses according to the field you work, in this case tourism.

Tourism business registration

In Florida, it is mandatory for people or companies that sell travel-related services to register with the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services (FDACS). They must do this every year, unless you are exempt.

These types of companies have to provide proof of guarantee in the form of a surety. of compliance for no more than 25 thousand dollars. If they sell vacation certificates for 50 thousand. In case you want to function as a tour operator for students you must submit the application in FDACS.

An annual filing fee of $ 50 is required for each independent sales agent. Those who contract with Airlines Reporting Corporation (ARC) for 3 years or more under the same ownership are not required to register. But they must have an exemption statement issued by FDACS to obtain an occupational license.

To register you must fill out a form, pay a non-refundable fee of $ 300 and the proof of guarantee in the form of a bond that does not exceed $ 25 thousand. If you offer vacation certificates you have to fill out the form, pay $ 300. In addition, to cancel the fee for sending documents for $ 100 and proof of guarantee that does not exceed 50 thousand.

Failure to comply with said registration will result in the company receiving a fine of up to $ 5 for each violation., order of cessation and redress of the judicial mandate. Every sale or attempt will be considered an infringement.

Previous articleJalisco: the Clarksville taqueria that smells like Mexico | Edition 24
next articleHow to choose Shein clothes to resell: Guide for entrepreneurs
0 0 votes
Article rating
Notify of

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Inline feedback
View all comments